Illinois State Cup Begins

The Illinois State Soccer Association‘s Open Cup begins play this week. In 2021 the Tony Dallas Cup will feature a total of 14 sides will competing for the trophy. The tournament begins tonight with two matches featuring a few Midwest Premier League clubs. Edgewater Castle will travel to Buffalo Grove and face Schwaben AC at 7:30. The other match will see DeKalb County United head to Bensenville to play Wisloka Chicago at 8 PM.

State Open Cup?

The Tony Dallas Cup is one of many open cups inside the State of Illinois. Others played are Men’s Over-30, Over-40, Over-48, Under-23, and Women’s tournaments. In fact many states across the country have their own open cups which serve to supplement lower league seasons from smaller city leagues to state leagues to regional ones. Most states that have one Cup usually have a few, which we will also be covering.

Cup History

The Tony Dallas Cup itself has only been awarded the past three seasons, however the tournament dates back to 1909. From 1909-1970 the Peter J Peel Cup was awarded to the champions. During the Peel Cup era Sparta would win the title 12 times. From 1971-1977 the trophy awarded was the Illinois Governors Cup, which saw the Lions win three titles. Since 1978 the trophy has taken the names of the Fred W Netto Cup (78-83), George E Fishwick Cup (84-87), William P Hemmings Cup (88-93), Alfredo V Arias Cup (94-03), George L Chazaro Cup (04-07), and Frank Mariani Cup (07-16).

RWB Adria has won the title a total of 14 times, most in cup history, including the last time it was awarded in 2019.

2021 Format

The 2021 format of the Tony Dallas Cup is a straight forward 14 team knockout tournament. All rounds will be single elimination with two teams gaining a first round bye. Those sides being AAC Eagles of the Metropolitan Soccer League and Gazelle Chicago of the National Soccer League. All clubs in this years tournament hail from Chicago or it’s immediate surroundings.

2021 ISSA Open Division “Tony Dallas Cup” Tournament Bracket